CVL Participates in Virtual Worlds MOOC

CVL will host multiple events during the 4th annual Virtual Worlds MOOC (VWMOOC), August 1-31, 2018 on Moodle for Teachers.

VWMOOC (formerly SLMOOC) is organized by Dr. Doris Molero (Pionia Destiny in SL), Dr. Nancy Zingrone (Maggie Larimore in SL), and Dr. Nellie Deutsch (Nellie Homewood in SL). This year’s theme is “peace through learning and connecting online for instruction and learning via web technologies such as Second Life”.

VWMOOC18 Headquaters in Second Life
VWMOOC18 Headquaters in Second Life

Join CVL librarians and volunteers at the following events:

  • Sunday 8/5/18 @ 12pm SLT: Networking Forum at Community Virtual Library
    • Where: CVL Main Library (SLURL: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Cookie/206/219/21)
    • How can librarians help educators in virtual worlds? Embedded librarianship holds potential for immersive learning.  Come learn how to promote your virtual world communities and the great work of educators in virtual worlds through networking.
  • Thursday 8/9/18 @ 5pm SLT: Virtual Literary Study
  • Sunday 8/12/18 @ 12pm SLT: CVL Write-In for Creative and Academic Writers (Session 1)
    • Where: CVL Book Orchard (SLURL: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Cookie/139/119/22)
    • Writing in a group is one of the most effective ways to abolish writer’s block for both academic and creative writers. Join the Community Virtual Library for a relaxing hour of writing at this write-in inspired by National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo.org). This session will feature three 15-minute writing “sprints” in which CVL Librarian Alyse Dunavant-Jones (AlyseDunavantJones in SL) will give both creative and academic writing prompts. Each sprint will be followed by a couple minutes for progress sharing/discussion. Participants will also receive a brief introduction to NanoWriMo and its writing resources.
  • Thursday 8/23/18 @ 12pm SLT: Tour of 3Dwebworldz
    • Where: https://3dwebworlds.com/
    • Discover an easy access web-based world that combats the “steep learning curve” educators have been challenged to overcome in Second Life. 3Dwebworldz could be a gateway to introduce the advantages of immersive learning. This is a joint event by CVL, 3Dwebworldz creator Sheila Webber (Sheila Yoshikawa in Second Life), and the Virtual Worlds Education Roundtable.
  • Friday 8/24/18 @ 9am SLT: Building a Digital Citizenship Community in Kitely (and Beyond!)
    • Where: Participants will meet in Second Life at the Nonprofit Commons meeting (SLURL: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Plush%20Nonprofit%20Commons/104/127/24), then travel to Kitely (Kitely URL: hop://grid.kitely.com:8002/Cookie%20II/589/931/22).
    • Join Nonprofit Commons for an interactive experience at the Community Virtual Library’s Digital Citizenship Museum in Kitely. The session will introduce participants to digital citizenship and CVL’s Digital Citizenship Resource Center, a new build within the museum! The session will also include a networking and brainstorming opportunity for participants regarding ways to make Kitely more accessible to all digital citizens. To create a Kitely avatar, visit https://www.kitely.com. Check out CVL’s Getting to Kitely guide for additional help.
    • Alternatively, participants can join our Zoom simulcast. Download the free Zoom launcher and join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://sjsu.zoom.us/j/158345635
  • Friday 8/24/18 @ 6pm SLT: Visit a Virtual Book Discussion around a Campfire!
    • Where: Library Land Book Discussion Campfire (SLURL: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Cookie/32/36/22)
    • Lost in a Good Book: A Thursday Next Novel by Jasper Fforde (All are welcome even if you have not read the book!)
    • The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next….It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse.
  • Sunday 8/26/18 @ 12pm SLT: CVL Write-In for Creative and Academic Writers (Session 2)
    • Where: CVL Book Orchard (SLURL: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Cookie/139/119/22)
    • Writing in a group is one of the most effective ways to abolish writer’s block for both academic and creative writers. Whether you missed Session 1 or are ready for more writing, join the Community Virtual Library for a relaxing hour of writing at this write-in inspired by National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo.org). This session will feature three new 15-minute writing “sprints” in which CVL Librarian Alyse Dunavant-Jones (AlyseDunavantJones in SL) will give both creative and academic writing prompts. Each sprint will be followed by a couple minutes for progress sharing/discussion. Participants will also receive a brief introduction/recap to NanoWriMo and its writing resources.

For more information and a complete list of VWMOOC courses and events, check out the official VWMOOC18 tutorials and recordings playlist, Calendar, Syllabus, and Moodle for Teachers page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s